Mt Clear breaks Wendouree's grip in Twenty20

PHOTOS: Ballarat's T20 Grand Final

MT CLEAR has broken Wendouree’s grip on the Ballarat Cricket Association Twenty20 crown.

The Mounties clinched the T20 title with a thrilling victory over the Red Caps in yesterday’s grand final at Eastern Oval.

Wendouree’s 7-169 looked as though it might have been enough to secure a third successive premiership, that was until Mt Clear hauled in the target with one ball to spare.

Needing 13 runs off the final over to win, Matthew Ward, who was dropped early in his innings, smashed two massive sixes off paceman Eamon Johnson before being bowled for 45 on the third ball of the over. Johnson dismissed Steve Nicholson with the next delivery, before Grant Trevenen hit his hat-trick ball to the boundary to secure the win.

Grant Bell belted 68 for the reigning state champions, with his knock including six fours and two sixes as Wendouree posted a competitive total.

But it didn’t prove enough to hold out a determined Mt Clear side, which chased down more than 50 runs off the final five overs to win. Matt Goonan made 56 at the top of the order, with handy contributions from Paull Jeffrey (23) and Ash George (26) helping the Mounties over the line.

Earlier in the day, Lucas claimed the inaugural district T20 title with victory over Buninyong. Batting first, Lucas finished its 20 overs on 6-161 before restricting the Bunnies to 9-154. Mt Clear (division one) and Lucas (division two) will now represent Ballarat in the Central Highlands T20 competition, held early next year.