Miners announce leadership team

GUARD Shaun Bruce and American import Matt Hanson will captain Ballarat Miners' 2013 campaign.

The leadership appointments were announced last night at Ballarat Basketball Club's Miners and Rush jersey presentation.

Rush is yet to appoint its captain for this South East Australian Basketball League season.

Bruce is still on duty with Cairns Taipans in the National Basketball League and is tipped to return to the Minerdome early next month.

Hanson, who spent the three seasons with Bundaburg Bulls in Queensland, arrived early in the pre-season and has been busy working in the Ballarat community.

The Miners launch their SEABL season Saturday night against Mount Gambier at the Minerdome, tip-off 8pm, while Rush has a bye this round ahead of its opener against Frankston on the road next week.


3 Alex Trezise

5 Andrea McMahon

8 Kate Willey

9 Alice Kunek

10 Olivia Jones

11 Kristy Rinaldi

13 Bronte Clark

15 Molly Mathews

21 Kelly Richardson

24 Sophie Alexander

34 Nya Mason

Head coach: Donna Rinaldi

Assistant coach: Darren Thomas

Team manager: Andrea Nolan


1 Lindsay Cole

6 Shaun Bruce

8 Kris Blicavs

10 Sean Massey

12 Lucas Walker

20 Matt Hanson

21 Keena Young

22 Ash Constable

30 Jack Saunders

32 Anthony Fisher

33 Chris Smith

Head coach: David Flint

Assistant coach: Eric Hayes

Team manager: Simon Walshe