Former Stawell Gift winners to Dash for Cash at the MCG

BALLARAT’S Matt Wiltshire will be one of three Stawell Gift winners to run at tonight’s Gillette Dash for Cash held at the MCG.

Wiltshire, who won the 2012 version of the Stawell Gift, will be joined by last year’s winner Andrew Robinson and 2008 victor Sam Jamieson as the headline acts.

The 300-metre race will take place prior to tonight’s Big Bash League Twenty20 game between the Melbourne Stars and the Hobart Hurricanes.

The trio will compete in the third heat at 7.06pm alongside a high quality field that also features Stawell Gift placegetter Paul Tancredi and veteran Shane Ezard, who will start on a 13-metre front mark.

Ballarat has had a strong influence over the Dash for Cash this past month, with Holly Dobbyn winning the second heat of the event in the lead-up to the clash between the Melbourne Stars and Adelaide Strikers.

Dobbyn was one of four Ballarat runners in the event, joining Sam Baird, Lian Procaccino and Conor Nunn.

The athletes competing tonight will be vying for a place in the $5000 final held at the MCG on Monday, January 27.