13 bowls clubs to play in this weekend's grand finals

Former Ballarat District Bowls Division players Brett Mahoney (Webbcona) and Bryce Young (Avenue) have won a group champion of champion pairs and will compete in state finals at Bendigo next month.

Each played with Altona this season. 

Nineteen clubs were represented in BDBD pennant finals.

Now 13 will play off for the ultimate prize in this weekend’s grand finals.

City Oval has three sides competing, with Avenue, Clunes and Learmonth two each. 

Nine country clubs are in the finals. 

Selections and umpiring appointments for BDBD pennant grand finals:


Division 1: City Oval v Central Wendouree at Sebastopol. Umpires P. Auer, N. Thornhill. 


Division 2: CRESWICK v City Oval at Victoria. Umpires P. Powell, D. Muller. 

Division 3: LINTON v Sebastopol at Ballarat East. Umpire L. Emonson. 

Division 4: LEARMONTH v Ballarat East at at Central Wendouree. Umpires G. Archibald, R. Jones. 

Division 5: CITY OVAL v Avenue at Ballarat. Umpires L. Calf, J. Holt. 

Division 6: INVERMAY v Clunes at Webbcona. Umpires P. Pike, N. Coad. 

Division 7: LEARMONTH v Buninyong at Central Wendouree. Umpires G. Archibald, R. Jones.

Division 8: DAYLESFORD v Clunes at Webbcona. S. Chapman, H. Colbert. 

Division 9: Ballan v AVENUE at Ballarat. Umpires L. Calf, J. Holt. 

Rod Lindsay is BDBD secretary

File photo

File photo