JakobTidyman revealed as Ballarat’s best junior cricketer of 2013-14 season

JAKOB Tidyman has been honoured as the best junior cricketer in Ballarat after winning the junior best and fairest in the Ballarat Cricket Association under-16 gold division last night.

The North Ballarat opening batsman, who also proved more than handy with the ball throughout the 2013-14 season, won the award ahead of Ballarat-Redan’s Zac Jenkins and Billy Hoye of Brown Hill.

Tidyman, who scored 404 runs in the juniors at an average of 80.8, also notched up two unbeaten centuries throughout the year.

With the ball he terrorised opposition batsmen, taking 20 wickets at an average of 6.45 and an economy rate of 1.34.

It was not just the junior competition where honed his craft however, playing 10 firsts matches for the Roosters, as well as representing Ballarat in senior Country Week.

The under-16 green division saw the honours split between Lachlan Snaith of Ballan and Coronet City’s Jayson Porter.

Snaith scored 291 runs in the under-16s, while Porter took 20 scalps and averaged 32 with the willow in the juniors.

In the under-14s, Connor Ronan’s dominant season for Golden Point saw him the winner of the under-14 gold award with a whopping batting average of 113.67, losing his wicket just three times from 10 innings for the season.

Dylan Graham from Ballan was the runaway winner in the under-14 green with a batting average of 217 with 12 wickets also to his name, while Nicholas Pantzidis from Elaine and Golden Point’s Tom Pantzidis shared the honours in the under-14 red.

Leading vottegetters:


17 J Tidyman (North Ballarat) 

15 Z Jenkins (Ballarat-Redan) 

15 B Hoye (Brown Hill) 

12 T Le Lievre (Wendouree Red) 

11 H Givvens (East Ballarat) 

9 B Van Der Heuval (Golden Point) 

9 N Spark (Wendouree Red) 

8 J Walker-Corbett (Golden Point) 

8 C Gell (Wendouree Red) 


12 L Snaith (Ballan) 

12 J Porter (Coronet City) 

11 D Trickey (Ballan) 

11 B Butcher (Ballarat-Redan) 

10 J Johnson (North Ballarat) 

10 A Hetherington (Buninyong) 

9 T Curwin-King (Ballan) 

8 J Curran (North Ballarat) 

8 B Chalmers (Haddon) 

7 P Singh (Coronet City) 


13 C Ronan (Golden Point) 

12 F Hunt (Brown Hill) 

10 J Riding (North Ballarat) 

10 B Medwell (East Ballarat) 

10 D Orr (Brown Hill) 

9 R Dell (Golden Point) 

9 J Cadman (Darley) 

6 D Prendergast (Mt Clear) 

6 B Hutt (Ballarat-Redan) 

6 A Creelman (Wendouree) 


23 D Graham (Ballan) 

18 J Doherty (Ballarat-Redan) 

11 B Foley (Darley) 

10 B Loughnane (Ballan) 

10 J Crilly (Ballarat-Redan) 

9 S Van Der Heuval (Golden Point) 

9 M Emmlin (Golden Point) 


13 T McKenzie (Golden Point) 13

13 N Pantzidis (Elaine) 13

12 D O’Donnell (Buninyong) 12

10 J Murphy (Ballarat-Redan Gold) 10

8 A Marshall (Ballarat-Redan Gold) 8

7 B Levens (Wendouree White) 7

7 N Drever (Ballarat-Redan Green) 7