Bowling: Ballarat, Sebastopol selected to host finals

BALLARAT Bowling Club and Sebastopol will host the top two division bowls semi-finals on Saturday.

The Ballarat-Geelong Premier Division and Ballarat District Bowls Division match committees have selected the two venues for the premier division and division one finals respectively.

Victoria will face Ocean Grove in the premier division second semi-final alongside the Sebastopol versus Bareena first semi-final at Ballarat. 

With Victoria finishing the home-and-away season on top of the ladder, the Vics earned a hometown final against second-placed Grove, while Sebastopol’s third position achieved the same in the sudden death first semi-final against Bareena.

Under premier division rules, Geelong will host either the preliminary final or the grand final, with Ballarat to host the other, based on the results of Saturday’s matches.

Meanwhile, Ballarat and Ballarat East will play the division one second semi-final at Sebastopol, alongside the Ballarat versus Mt Xavier first semi-final. 

Division one through nine pennant matches start at 1.30pm (after roll-up) while premier division starts at 1pm. The designated “home side” is responsible for faxing the pennant results form to the BDBD secretary.

All side managers should have some spare discs in case the umpires decide the discs on a bowl are not up to the required standard and need to be replaced.

Meanwhile, venues for the preliminary finals will be decided by the match committee early next week. 

The premier division and division one grand finals will be held on Sunday, March 17.

This weekend’s semi-finals venues in detail. 

Premier division: Sebastopol v Bareena and Victoria v Ocean Grove at Ballarat. Umpires: P. Pike and J. Holt. 

Division one: Ballarat v Mt. Xavier and Ballarat East v BMS at Sebastopol. Umpires: N. McQuinn, and G. Densley. 

Division two: Midlands Golf v Creswick and Daylesford v Sebastopol at Buninyong. Umpires: S. Chapman and G. Simpson. 

Division three: Sebastopol v Victoria and Linton v Clunes at Webbcona. Umpires: D. Muller, B. Mahoney, M. Robinson, and N. Coad. 

Division four: BMS v Sebastopol at Ballarat East, and Avenue v Buninyong at Mt Xavier. Umpires: D. Alsop and I. Forbes. 

Division five: City Oval v Webbcona and Midlands Golf v Smeaton at Daylesford. Umpires: M. Tate

Division six: Victoria v Clunes at Smeaton, Umpire: J. Toose, and Invermay v Linton at Central Wendouree. Umpire: G. Archibald. 

Division seven: Central Wendouree v Waubra and Buninyong v Ballarat East at Linton. Umpires: P. Brough. 

Division eight: BMS v Clunes at City Oval, Umpire: P. Cameron, and Midlands Golf v Linton at Victoria. Umpire: L. Taffe. 

Division nine: Central Wendouree v Ballarat East and Learmonth v Midlands Golf at Webbcona. Umpires as per division three. 


Discuss "Bowling: Ballarat, Sebastopol selected to host finals"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.