Central Highlands names 50-man interleague squad

The Central Highlands Football League has named an initial 50-man squad that will be whittled down to a team to take on Loddon Valley in next month’s country football championships.

Highlanders’ coach Greg Middleton yesterday revealed the group of players who will come under consideration for the senior clash at Bungaree on May 24.

Seventeen of the league’s 18 member clubs are represented in the squad, which will be cut to about 25 following a second Sunday training session on May 11.

Middleton said the final side would be a balanced one and made up of players who wanted to be part of the interleague concept.

 Chris O’Keefe (Bungaree) is part of the initial 50-man interleague squad. PICTURE: KATE HEALY

Chris O’Keefe (Bungaree) is part of the initial 50-man interleague squad. PICTURE: KATE HEALY

“We will send that list out and it’s up to them to contact me if they don’t want to be part of it,” Middleton said.

A host of big names are in the squad, including league best and fairest winners Nick Sullivan (Waubra) and Andy McKay (Hepburn), as well as a range of new players to the league this year.

“There’s quite a few blokes that have been there the last couple of years, which I think will help with the fluency of the side and the camaraderie, I guess,” Middleton said.

“We’ve also got a good blend of new blokes, too.”

Middleton will be assisted throughout the interleague campaign by Hepburn coach Clive Raak, who will focus on the forwards, Dunnstown’s Jaye Cahir, who will look after the midfield, and Springbank’s Tim Malone, who takes care of the defence.

Central Highlands takes on Loddon Valley following interleague victories over Ellinbank and District in 2012 and the Ovens and King competition last year.


BUNINYONG: Sam Turner, Ned Gilbert, Jarrod Morgan

CLUNES: Jayden Hind, Nicholas Hind, Justin Harris

LEARMONTH: Glen Coleman, Jacob Werts, Brenton Powell

CRESWICK: Alex Code, Liam Hepworth, Caleb Hepworth


HEPBURN: Daniel Smith, Brendan Sutcliffe, Andrew McKay, Bradley McKay, Ken Cummings, Dan O’Halloran, Brad Stringer

WAUBRA: Jason Delaney, Jimmy Rushton, George Russell, Nick Sullivan

BUNGAREE: Marty Dufty, Chris O’Keefe, Shaun Finlayson, Joel Mahar, Jason Linke, Dave Benson

SPRINGBANK: Paul McMahon, Luke Fisher, Tim Malone, Tom Eltringham, Joel Maher, Simon Quinlan

BALLAN: Ryan Closter

DUNNSTOWN: Sam Jenkins


GORDON: Mark Gunnell, Luke Gunnell, Ash Munari

BEAUFORT: Damien Day, Jacob Garvey

SKIPTON: Tyrone Ross

NEWLYN: Nathan Skewes

DAYLESFORD: James Evans, Trent Nesbitt, Michael Cummings, Sebastian Walsh


Discuss "Central Highlands names 50-man interleague squad "

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.