Jamieson races towards Stawell Gift history

SAM Jamieson has his sights on Stawell Gift history.

Ballarat's Grace O'Dwyer, left, and scratchmarker Melissa Breen hit the line in a  Stawell Women's Gift heat. Pic Lachlan Bence.

Ballarat's Grace O'Dwyer, left, and scratchmarker Melissa Breen hit the line in a Stawell Women's Gift heat. Pic Lachlan Bence.

The 2008 Stawell Gift winner is giving himself a realistic hope of becoming the fourth dual winner of the professional 120m classic after cruising through his heat on Saturday.

"I'm happy to be back at Stawell and enjoying it."

Jamieson said he had set himself to run well at the Easter carnival.

"I've done what I had to do (today) - win.

"I'll put it all out there on Monday."

Jamieson said he was in much better shape physically and mentally this year.

"I have more belief.

"In the past (since winning the final) I have been happy to make the semi-finals.

"This year I'm here to make the final," he said.

Jamieson, of Williamstown,  ran 12.4 seconds in the third of 22 heats.

Isaac Dunmall from Brisbane ran the fastest time of 12.32 - just shading Augustine Carty-Cowling, of Footscray, with 12.34.

Carty-Cowling needed to produce something special to keep Ballarat's Joel Bee.

Running off the Gift backmark of 0.75, Bee was doing his best over the closing metres without ever looking like running the leader.

Chris Innes-Wong is one to watch going into Monday's heats.

Innes-Wong won his heat in 12.40 after being the big shortner in betting.

Ballarat's Sam Baird ran in the same heat, but was never a chance after breaking and being penalised one metre back to 5.5m.

Melissa Breen failed in her bid to be the first feamle to qualify for the Gift semi-finals.

She was run out with a fourth to Glen Ross.

The Australian 100m record holder ran 12.95.

Heat winners (with next fastest 20 to also run in semi-finals):

Isaac Dunmall 12.32

Augustine Carty-Cowling 12.336

John Adams 12.35

*Luke Versace 12.351

Simon Jackson 12.384

Chris Innes-Wong 12.398

Kevin Brittain 12.403

Sam Jamieson 12.403

Edward Ware 12.431

*Ryan Camille 12.472

Nick MacGibbon 12.482

*Will Johns 12.509

Luke Stevens 12.513

*Joel Bee 12.524

*Robert Spencer 12.537

Paul Tancredi 12.547

David Afath 12.557

*David Gross 12.578

*Luke Houlihan 12.58

*Leigh Phelan 12.583

Murray Goodwin  12.59

Brendan Matthews 12.59

Cam Dunbar 12.598

*Ryan Bedford 12.616

*Peter O'Dwyer 12.623

Dean Scarff 12.63

*Josh McCabe 12.63

Josh Tiu 12.646

*Daniel Steinhauser 12.651

*Dale Lyons 12.653

*Tim Eschebach 12.661

*Dylan Hicks 12.666

*Matthew Eddy 12.667

*Simon Fitzpatrick 12.674

*Jordan Tronnolone 12.679

*Liam Shepherd 12.702

*Matthew Hargreaves 12.705

James Vine 12.72

David Tinney 12.729

Vincent Jason 12.805

Glenn Ross 12.809

Jarrad Dartnall 12.855

*Fastest 20 losers to qualify for semi-finals


Discuss "Jamieson races towards Stawell Gift history"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.