Five state cross country titles for dominating Ballarat runners

DUER Yoa and Angela Williams are two of the new Victorian Country cross country champions.

Duer Yoa

Duer Yoa

Yoa took out the 8km open men’s title and Williams the 4km women’s crown in Ballarat Regional Athletic Centre colours in the Athletics Victoria XCR’14 Series second round at Warragul on Saturday.

They were two of five Ballarat runners to clinch state country titles. 

Jack Davies won the under-20 men, Courtney Scott saluted in the under-20 women and Nicholas Fidler took out the under-14 men.

Yoa lead from the gun and was never challenged as Ballarat runners collected six medals for the round. 

He has made a highly promising start to the XCR’14 Series and already staked a claim to be the one to beat for the open athlete of the year award.

BRAC top 10 finishes:

Open men (8km): Duer Yoa 25:24 1; Jamie Huggett 25:51 3

40+ men (8km): Paul Burge 28:58 4

40+ women (4km): Angela Williams 14:51 2

45+ men (8km): Stephen McLennan 32:51 10

55+ women (4km): Christine O’Halloran 18:37 1

55+ men (8km): Vince Duffy 33:20 4

Under-20 men (4km): Jack Davies 11:59 1, Stewart McSweyn 12:22 3

Under-20 women (3km): Courtney Scott 11:00 3

Under-14 men (2km): Nicholas Fidler 6:06 3


Discuss "Five state cross country titles for dominating Ballarat runners"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.