CHFL: Hepburn star could win a second Geoff Taylor Medal

Andy McKay
Andy McKay

COULD Andy McKay join elite company by winning a second Geoff Taylor Medal on Monday night?

The Hepburn star has had another brilliant season for the Burras, playing all 17 home and away matches for the reigning premiers.

McKay has been widely regarded as the best player in the Central Highlands Football League and, in 2012, he won the medal to prove it.

On that occasion, he also failed to miss a match during the regular season, where he was named in Hepburn’s best on 10 occasions and booted 55 goals.

In 2014, McKay has had less impact on the scoreboard – booting 31 majors – but has been named among his side’s best players 11 times.

The Burras have had another impressive campaign – dropping just three games – so polling votes should not be a problem, particularly without ace goal-kicker Lee Cox there to steal the umpires’ eye.

If successful, McKay would join a group of five other players to have won two or more league best and fairests since the Central Highlands competition was formed in 1979.

But once again, it is expected to be a wide-open count with a host of winning possibilities.

Bungaree’s Chris O’Keefe has starred for the Demons and will attract plenty of umpire attention, Springbank’s Luke Fisher has led the Tigers all year, Learmonth co-coach Brenton Powell has been a shining light for the Lakies, as have Nick and Jayden Hind in Clunes’ late-season charge.

Buninyong duo Sam Turner and Ned Gilbert will land plenty of votes, Nathan Pring has been a dominant force for Carngham-Linton and could be a smokey, Tim Mullane, Jason Delaney and Jimmy Rushton have shone in an even contribution from the Waubra boys, Ash Munari may lead a wide Gordon charge, Zac Peoples is the league leading goal-kicker from Ballan, while Michael Cummings is Daylesford’s best hope.

Monday night’s Geoff Taylor Medal count will incorporate presentations for both football and netball senior grades and will be held at Bray Raceway, Ballarat.


  • 2013 - Nick Sullivan (Waubra)
  • 2012 - Andy McKay (Hepburn)
  • 2011 - Louis Franc (Beaufort)
  • 2010 - Chris Eastwell (Newlyn)
  • 2009 - Jaye Cahir (Dunnstown)
  • 2008 - Louis Franc (Beaufort)
  • 2007 - Luke Adams (Daylesford)
  • 2006 - Luke Adams (Daylesford)
  • 2005 - Joe Gilbert (Buninyong)
  • 2004 - Jason Hill (Clunes)


Discuss "CHFL: Hepburn star could win a second Geoff Taylor Medal"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.