Nick Ripon named in VFL Team of the Year

Liam Anthony
Liam Anthony

LIAM Anthony has narrowly missed out on becoming North Ballarat's fifth VFL best and fairest.

The North Melbourne-listed Anthony lost the lead in the JJ Liston Trophy count on Monday night to Box Hill's Alex Woodward in the last round.

Anthony and Woodward were locked on 17 votes with one game to play.

While Anthony did not poll in the Roosters' heavy loss to Port Melbourne, Woodward was judged best-on-ground.

The Hawthorn-listed Woodward polled in nine games of 13 VFL appearances.

Anthony took the lead in round 17 with a best-on-ground against Coburg, but was unable to withstand Woodward's whirlwind finish of votes in each of the last three rounds.

Julian Field was North Ballarat's first Liston Trophy winner in 2004.

Myles Sewell topped the voting in 209, and Steve Clifton became a dual winner in 2010 before joining GWS Giants and then on returning to the VFL last year.

Clifton was again honoured at the dinner with VFL life membership.

Nick Rippon capped off a top year his second on the North Ballarat list by being named in the VFL team of the year.

He was part on an extended interchange.

Minor premier Port Melbourne has seven players in the team of the year, while Williamstown has six.

The Roosters were also named the "best conducted club", while North Ballarat hall of fame member Lorna Bromley received the Alec Gillon Award for outstanding service to the club or football in general.

LISTON TROPHY TOP 10: A Woodward (Box Hill Hawks) 20, L Anthony (North Ballarat) 17, T Campbell (Fotscrayc Bulldogs) 15, T Pinwill (Port Melbourne) 14, S Clouston (Williamstown) 14, M Wooffindin (Port Melbourne) 13, A Marcon (Williamstown) 12, C Cain (Port Melbourne) 11, M Gawn (Casey Scorpions) 10, B Duscher (Essendon) 10, L Jong (Footscray Bulldogs) 10, J Moore (Werribee Tigers (10), B Jolley (Williamstown) 10.


B: A Saad (Coburg), D Noonan (Port Melbourne), B Mangan (Williamstown)

HB: N Newman (Frankston), S Pleming (Port Melbourne), L Tynan (Port Melbourne)

C: B Davies (Williamstown), T Pinwill (Port Melbourne), J Bolton (Werribee)

HF: O Uysal (Coburg), L Featherstone (Coburg), A Marcon (Williamstrown)

F: C Cain (Port Melbourne), S Clouston (Williamstown), D Connors (Port Melbourne)

R: N Meese (Williamstown), B Jolley (Williamstown), N Lower (Footscray Bulldogs)

Inter: David Mirra (Box Hill Hawks), N Rippon (North Ballarat), B Cavarra (Frankston), T Gribble (WEerribee), T O'Sullivan (Port Melbourne), J Moore (Werribee)


Discuss "Anthony narrowly misses JJ Liston Trophy"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.