CHFL draws metro-based Southern in community championships

Bendigo battle again

Bendigo battle again

Ballarat will again lock horns with arch-rival Bendigo in the AFL Community Championships next year.

They will clash at Bendigo on May 13 or May 14 in the second year of the restructured competition, which takes in country and metropolitan leagues.

Ballarat and Bendigo last met in Ballarat in 2015.

Ballarat lost to Western Region by three points at the Whitten Oval last season, while Bendigo defeated Gippsland by 41 points.

Central Highlands will be away to the inner eastern metropolitan-based Southern league as its strives to bounce back from a four-point loss at the hands of Geelong District.

Maryborough Castlemaine has drawn Warrnambool District at home.


Geelong  v Mornington Peninsula

Eastern v Essendon

Northern v Western 

Goulburn Valley  v Ovens and Murray 

Ballarat  v Bendigo 

Hampden v South East 

Gippsland  v Yarra Ranges

Murray  v Wimmera

Bellarine v Sunraysia 

Central Murray v Heathcote 

Geelong District v North Central 

Southern v Central Highlands 

West Gippsland  v Riddell 

Maryborough Castlemaine  v Warrnambool

Horsham  v Colac 

Kyabram  v Golden Rivers