BFNL too good for Bendigo

The Ballarat Football Netball League has beaten rival competition Bendigo to regain the Goldfields Trophy.

EYES ON THE BALL: Ballarat under-15 player Josh Carlyle-Marks. Picture: Lachlan Bence.

EYES ON THE BALL: Ballarat under-15 player Josh Carlyle-Marks. Picture: Lachlan Bence.

Following five games of football and two netball fixtures, the BFNL prevailed with six wins to Bendigo’s one.

Matches were played on Saturday in Ballarat at Wendouree Reserve and Northern Oval 2.

“The Goldfields Trophy has been a longstanding carnival between the two leagues and it is great to get our hands back on the Goldfields Trophy,” BFNL operations manager Scott Carey said.

Two youth girls exhibition matches between AFL Goldfields and Bendigo were also played on Saturday.

AFL Goldfields won both under-15 and under-18 games.




Ballarat 19.16 (130) d Bendigo 4.5 (29)

GOALS – Ballarat: Dylan Graham 4, Mitchell Phillips 3, Mitchell Ward 3, Sam Bowen 1, Cooper Craig-Peters 1, Jack Crawford 1, Tom McKechnie 1, Liam Phillips 1, Riley Polkinghorne 1, Riely Ranieri 1, Jai Dodemaide 1, Fletcher Toose 1.

BEST – Ballarat: Liam Phillips (medal), James Dickson, Dylan Graham, Blake Colley, Mitchell Phillips, Mitchell Welsh.


Bendigo 11.6 (72) d Ballarat 9.9 (63)

GOALS – Ballarat: William Liston 2, Mitchell Nicholson 2, Joshua Carlyle-Marks 2, Jack Christie 1, Matthew Schaper 1, Cooper Bath 1.

BEST – Ballarat: Joshua Carlyle-Marks (medal), Jack Christie, Felix Oliver, Isaac Carey, Mitchell Nicholson, William Liston.


Ballarat 6.8 (44) d Bendigo 3.4 (22)

GOALS – Ballarat: Charlie Molan 3, Kai Lohmann 1, Bailey Young 1, Sam Broadbent 1.

BEST – Ballarat: Charlie Molan (medal), Sam Broadbent, Henry Ross, Kai Lohmann, Liam Howard, Bailey Young.


Ballarat 6.9 (45) d Bendigo 2.4 (16)

GOALS – Ballarat: Tynan Oakley 4, Joshua Sparkman 1, Jake Ashmore 1.

BEST – Ballarat: Jake Ashmore (medal), Felix Fogaty, Tristan Maple , Max Faulkner, Hugh Bond, Riley Tuddenham.


Ballarat 6.6 (42) d Bendigo 3.4 (22)

GOALS – Ballarat: William Lalor 2, Callum Smith 1, Lachlan Barnes 1, Riley Mackay 1, Joel Freeman 1.

BEST – Ballarat: Alexander Molan (medal), Lachlan Charleson, Kobe Hughes, Campbell Brown, Harry Miller, Lachlan Barnes.



AFL Goldfields 5.10 (41) d Bendigo 0.3 (3)

GOALS –  AFL Goldfields: Laura Fitzgibbon 2, Chloe Leonard 1, Charlotte Ross 1, Kasey Sinclair 1.

BEST – AFL Goldfields: Chloe Leonard, Abbey McDonald, Phoebe Jenkins, Jamie Lee-Speakman, Laura Fitzgibbon, Codi Boyer.


AFL Goldfields 5.7 (37) d Bendigo 1.1 (7)

GOALS – AFL Goldfields: Jade McIntyre 2, Nyakoat Dojiok 1, Emmerson Hitch 1, Meghan Wik 1.

BEST – AFL Goldfields: Katie McAloon, Sophie Molan, Nyakoat Dojiok, Emmerson Hitch, Jamilla Cranny, Kristen Prebble.



Ballarat 45 d Bendigo 15

BEST – Ballarat: Poppy Douglass (medal), Lavinia Fox, Eden Squires.


Ballarat 27 d Bendigo 17

BEST – Ballarat: Milly Sharp (medal), Rosie Todd, Milly Simpson.