CHFL round 13 wrap: Grasshoppers just fall short of Tigers | Video

Rokewood-Corindhap went close to securing its biggest win since joining the Central Highlands Football League, but was eventually overrun by the reigning back-to-back premiers on Saturday.

The Grasshoppers led Springbank by 10 points at half time and were right with the Tigers at the final change, but class eventually prevailed as the home side kicked clear to record a 22-point win at Wallace.

Peter Lewis was moved from defence and into the ruck at half time and played a strong hand for Springbank, while Jesse Galea kicked four goals as the most damaging forward on the ground.

For Rokewood-Corindhap, coach Jarrod Thompson and Jake Carr booted three majors each, Jordan Gercovich did a good job on Tigers spearhead Tom Eltringham and Sam Chapman was strong in the middle.

Springbank's Jesse Galea

Springbank's Jesse Galea

Elsewhere on Saturday, Bungaree claimed a 30-point win over Daylesford to move a step closer to a double chance in finals.

The Bulldogs took it up to the Demons most of the afternoon, but couldn’t rattle the hosts, which kicked clear in the third term on their way to an impressive victory.

Bungaree, which was led by a defensive division including Steve Ryan and Chris Cowan, remains a game clear in fourth spot on the table.

Daylesford has kept its place inside the top eight thanks to Learmonth’s heavy loss at the hands of Buninyong.

The Bombers blitzed the Lakies by 119 points to remain sixth on the ladder.

Other winners from round 13 included Beaufort, Dunnstown, Gordon, Hepburn and Waubra.


Buninyong 24.22 (166) d Learmonth 7.5 (47)

Gordon 22.15 (147) d Newlyn 6.14 (50)

Bungaree 14.11 (95) d Daylesford 9.11 (65)

Waubra 43.26 (284) d Skipton 4.1 (25)

Hepburn 12.14 (86) d Creswick 8.8 (56)

Beaufort 28.15 (183) d Carngham-Linton 4.7 (31)

Dunnstown 24.13 (157) d Clunes 3.2 (20)

Springbank 11.15 (81) d Rokewood-Corindhap 9.5 (59)


Springbank 48, 185.69

Beaufort 44, 248.15

Hepburn 44, 206.70

Bungaree 44, 182.72

Gordon 40, 219.21

Buninyong 40, 206.81

Waubra 36, 188.16

Daylesford 32, 107.86

Learmonth 28, 121.22

Ballan 22, 74.25

Dunnstown 20, 77.42

Newlyn 16, 67.76

Clunes 16, 46.84

Creswick 14, 69.57

Carngham-Linton 12, 42.82

Rokewood-Corindhap 8, 48.99

Skipton 4, 18.05