CHFL finals wrap – more heartbreak for Waubra, Crows get job done

WINNERS: Beaufort players celebrate a goal against Buninyong on Saturday. Picture: Kate Healy.
WINNERS: Beaufort players celebrate a goal against Buninyong on Saturday. Picture: Kate Healy.

Waubra has suffered a third-straight elimination final exit from the Central Highlands Football League playoff series.

As they did in 2015 and 2016, the Roos finished fifth on the ladder at the end of the home and away rounds, but were bundled out of the competition at the hands of an eighth-placed rival.

And for the second time in as many years it was Daylesford that caused Waubra’s undoing.

The Bulldogs clinched a 10-point win at Dunnstown to progress to the second weekend of finals.

Ruckman Sam Winnard was named the best player for Daylesford, while Luke Carland and Will Hughes kicked two goals each for the winners.

At Bungaree, it was Beaufort that broke through for a long-awaited finals success.

The Crows, which claimed the minor premiership, snuck home to clinch a three-point qualifying final victory against Buninyong.

Star recruit Jarrod McCorkell was named best for the winners, which were led by Lachlan Murray (three goals) in attack.

On Sunday, Hepburn and Springbank will do battle in a qualifying final at Learmonth, while Gordon and Bungaree meet in a knockout encounter at Waubra.


Qualifying Final

Beaufort 8.5 (53) d Buninyong 7.8 (50)

GOALS – Beaufort: L. Murray 3, J. McCorkell 2, J. Duke 2, Z. Marrow. Buninyong: M. Phelps 2, L. Baker 2, J. Dunne, J. Romeril, J. Gorman.

BEST – Beaufort: J. McCorkell, L. Cox, M. Jenkins, T. Stapleton, L. Murray, L. Marshall. Buninyong: C. Wills, J. Robertson, J. Coxall, N. Gilbert, D. Pelchen, A. Bomitali.

Elimination final

Daylesford 8.11 (59) d Waubra 7.7 (49)

GOALS – Daylesford: L. Carland 2, W. Hughes 2, E. Nettleton, S. Walsh, C. Lovig, J. Nulty. Waubra: J. Crawford 2, J. Sardo, J. King, P. Dodds, T. Boyle, W. Booth.

BEST – Daylesford: S. Winnard, J. Cowan, C. Ralph, Z. Tisdale, S. Walsh, J. Evans. Waubra: W. Booth, P. Dodds, D. Jenkins, G. Lukich, J. Lukich, T. Nash.