Benson does it again

David Benson has joined rare company with a second Geoff Taylor Medal.

The Bungaree ruckman made it back-to-back Central Highlands Football League best and fairest awards with a runaway success in Wednesday night's count at the Ballarat and District Trotting Club.

Picture: Lachlan Bence.

Picture: Lachlan Bence.

Benson became the sixth player in the competition's history - which spans back to 1979 - to win multiple medals.

The Demons' star big man captured the award last year by a narrow margin and with the lowest successful total since 1985, but it was a different story in 2017.

HANDS UP: David Benson in action for the Demons this season.

HANDS UP: David Benson in action for the Demons this season.

Benson's outstanding campaign saw him poll 28 votes to finish eight clear of his nearest rivals. They were Daylesford's Joel Cowan and Hepburn's Andy McKay, who shared the runner-up honours.

Benson, who is only the third Bungaree player to receive the league's highest individual honour, was named best on ground on eight separate occasions during the home and away rounds. He collected votes in only two other games.

Benson said the award was bitter sweet given his team – beaten in an elimination final by Gordon at the weekend – wasn’t able to achieve its ultimate goal this year.

“There’s so many players that I really respect and admire in this league so to win this award is a massive honour,” Benson said to the crowd during the presentation.

The 30-year-old's journey at Bungaree has been a memorable one.

Benson was lured to the club from Penleigh and Essendon Grammar School for the 2014 season, which concluded with a best on ground medal in the grand final triumph over Springbank. Successive wins in the Geoff Taylor Medal count has been icing on the cake.

In a night for the ruckmen, veteran Daylesford tall Scott Winduss captured the reserves best and fairest award.

Winduss also polled 28 votes and finished 11 clear of past winner Adrian Beer from Beaufort.



28 – David Benson (Bungaree)

20 – Joel Cowan (Daylesford)

20 – Andy McKay (Hepburn)

18 – Ned Gilbert (Buninyong)

16 – Billy Driscoll (Springbank)

16 – Jason McNamara (Ballan)

16 – Brenton Powell (Learmonth)

16 – Lincoln Barnes (Waubra)


28 – Scott Winduss (Daylesford)

17 – Adrian Beer (Beaufort)

15 – Luke Adams (Daylesford)

15 – Tom Adams (Hepburn)

15 – Billy Marshman (Creswick)