BDSA: United and Rangers in division one hunt

OFFENSIVE FORCE: Jeremy Beggs will be crucial to North United's hopes against Warrnambool, having scored in 12 games this season.

OFFENSIVE FORCE: Jeremy Beggs will be crucial to North United's hopes against Warrnambool, having scored in 12 games this season.

North United is playing for a rematch with Vikings when it hits the pitch in the Ballarat District Soccer Association division one preliminary final at Morshead Park on Sunday.

United meets Warrnambool Rangers for the right to contest the grand final.

North United was forced into taking the long route with a 3-2 loss to league champion Vikings in the second semi-final.

United and Warrnambool shared honours in the regular season, with each taking three points once.

Their opening clash went to North United 3-0, but Rangers had the last say with a 2-1 win in the second last home and away round on their way to securing third position.

Warrnambool and Ballarat meet to stay alive in the division one women’s premiership race.

Rangers, which finished second, have had the wood on Ballarat this season – winning 2-1 and 3-1 before a 2-1 loss late in the year.


SUNDAY at Morshead Park

DIVISION 1: North United v Warrnambool on stadium pitch, 7.30pm

DIVISION 1 WOMEN: Warrnambool v Ballarat on stadium pitch, 5.15pm

DIVISION 2: Forest Rangers v Vic Park on synthetic No.2, 3.45pm

UNDER-17: Ballarat v North United White on synthetic No.2, 1.15pm

UNDER-16 GIRLS: North United v Buninyong on synthetic No.4, 2pm

UNDER-15 DIVISION 1: Ballarat Red v Vikings on synthetic No.2, 10.45am

UNDER-15 DIVISION 2: Daylesford v Vic Park Red on synthetic No.4, 10.45am

UNDER-13 DIVISION 1: North United Black v Vic Park Blue on synthetic No.2, 9am

UNDER-13 DIVISION 2: Creswick v Ballarat White on synthetic No.4, 9am

BDSA junior awards:


Best and fairest: 

Leading scorer: Sunny Yeu (North United Black) 32

League champion: Ballarat; runner–up, North United Black


Best and fairest: Eva Costa (North United) 36, Amelia Steward (Vic Park) 20

Leading scorer:  Amelia Stewart (Vic Park) 41 

League champion: Vic Park; runner–up, North United


Best and fairest: Justin Angeleski (Ballarat) 33, Liam Hageman (Bacchus Marsh) 19

Leading scorer: Harrison Barnes (Bacchus Marsh Yellow) 24

League champion: Vic Park Blue; runner–up, Ballarat


Best and fairest: Yuri Hoashi (Buninyong) 36, Francis Harvey (Daylesford) 19

Leading scorer: Bailey Webb (Buninyong) 24

League champion: Buninyong; runner–up, Daylesford


Best and fairest: Joseph Haynes (Vikings) 38, Jasper Chalmers (Vikings) 33 

Leading scorer: Jasper Chalmers (Vikings) 68

League champion: Vikings; runner–up, Ballarat


Best and fairest: Eero Partonen (Daylesford) 33, Samuel Adem (Vic Park) 30

Leading scorer: Eero Partonen (Daylesford) 57

League champion: Vic Park White; runner–up, Creswick Maroon