Ballarat Swans snare BFL premiership

Ballarat is the Ballarat Football League premier for the first time in 20 years.Swans captain Ash Baker clinched a five-point victory over Darley with a dramatic goal after the final siren in a thrilling grand final at the Eastern Oval in Ballarat today.Ballarat had not won a senior premiership since 1988.Final scores:BALLARAT 13.7 (85)DARLEY 10.20 (80)It was grand final packed with controversy, with Ballarat having a player red carded in the third quarter and Darley losing two in the last term.In his fourth year at the helm, Ballarat coach John Northey has long held legendary status in the BFL.He led Redan to three flags in the 1970s and the BFL to three consecutive country championship titles in the 1980s.The Swans premiership takes enhances the BFL hall of fame member to even greater heights.Ballarat's previous premierships in the post-war era had been in 1942-43-44-51-54-55-62-71-88.Full details:BALLARAT 4.2 8.5 9.5 13.7 (85) DARLEY 3.10 4.12 10.15 10.20 (80) GOALS - Ballarat: M Nunn 3, N Otto 3, Baker 2, Harkin 2, N. Anderson, Grills A Nunn. Darley: B Miller 3, Newman 2, T Edwards, King, J Edwards, Mcgill, Smithwick BEST - Ballarat: Brennan, Baker, May, Thompson, B Anderson, Harkin, Sewell. Darley: J Edwards, Leonard, Cape, Mcgill, Deckert, Doyle