Five finalists named for Ballarat Sportsperson of the Year Award

Will a breakout year earn cricketer Matt Short a place among Ballarat’s most famous sportspeople?

Short has been named as one of five finalists for the 2017 Ballarat Sportsperson of the Year Award, which will be presented next week.

The 22-year-old all-rounder had an exciting 2017, highlighted by his century while playing for the Cricket Australia XI in a tour match against England.

Short’s maiden first class ton earned him man-of-the-match honours.

The Ballarat East Cricket Club product and former St Patrick’s College student made his Sheffield Shield debut for Victoria in 2017 and played for the Melbourne Renegades in the Big Bash League.

Short also represented Australia at the Hong Kong Sixes tournament during last year.

Jared Tallent is not among the finalists for the Ballarat Sportsperson of the Year Award.

Tallent, a champion Australian race walker, claimed the award for a sixth time last February.

One of Short’s main rivals for the honour is rower Katrina Werry.

Werry’s memorable 2017 was topped by her triumph at the World Rowing Championships.

She formed part of Australia’s women’s fours crew that claimed victory at the regatta in Sarasota, Florida.

Werry is a former Ballarat Clarendon College student.

Tallent’s younger sister and fellow race walker Rachel is also one of the finalists, with her year including selection in Australia’s team for the world championships. She eventually pulled out of the titles due to injury.

The Tallents both attended Ballarat High School.

Table tennis star Rory Carroll, who claimed a bronze medal at the Para Table Tennis World Championships in Slovakia, and gun eight ball player Kolbe Poole are the other finalists.

The 2017 Ballarat Sportsperson of the Year Award, as well as a range of other honours, will be presented next Wednesday, February 14.

The night is run by the Ballarat Sportsmen’s Club.

Former Australian Test cricketer Kerry O’Keeffe has been named as the special guest for the function, which will be held at the Ballarat Golf Club.