St Patrick’s College names contenders for all-time great football team

NINE present-day AFL players have been shortlisted for honours in the St Patrick’s College all-time great football team.

St Pat’s has named 40 players from which the team will be selected.

The team is being announced as an extension of the college’s 120th anniversary.

More than 100 St Patrick’s College students have played football at the highest level in the VFL/AFL in the 120 years of the school.

Twenty Old Boys will be AFL lists next year.

Brad Crouch (Adelaide Crows), Clinton Young (Collingwood), Drew Petrie (North Melbourne), Matthew Rosa (West Coast Eagles), Mitchell Brown (West Coast Eagles), Nathan Brown (Collingwood), Nick Suban (Fremantle), Shaun Grigg (Richmond) and Tom McDonald) are still active in the AFL and on the shortlist.

The team will be unveiled at a gala black-tie dinner on Friday, February 7.

The 40-strong shortlist:

Alex McDonald (student 1982-87) Hawthorn, Collingwood

Anthony McDonald (1988-89) Melbourne 

Barry Richardson (1961-64) Richmond 

Bradley Crouch (2006-11) Adelaide 

Brian Brown (1973-75) Fitzroy, Essendon 

Brian Gleeson (1947-52) St Kilda 

Brian Molony (1948-50) Carlton, St Kilda 

Charlie Baker (1893-96) St Kilda 

Chris Fogarty (1900-03) Essendon, University 

Clinton Young (2003) Hawthorn, Collingwood 

Danny Frawley (1976-79) St Kilda 

Dick Hingston (1928) Melbourne 

Drew Petrie (1995-2000) North Melbourne 

Frank Dimattina (1963) Richmond, North Melbourne 

Gerald “Terry” Gleeson (1947-50) Melbourne 

James McDonald (1989-94) Melbourne, GWS Giants 

John Cunningham (1955-58) Hawthorn 

John Devine (1952-55) Geelong 

John James (1948-52) Carlton 

Leo Seward (1900-01) University 

Les Mogg (1942-48) North Melbourne 

Mario Bortolotto (1972-75) Geelong, Carlton 

Mark Orchard (1988-93) Collingwood, Sydney 

Matthew Francis (1983-88) Richmond, Collingwood 

Matthew Rosa (2004) West Coast Eagles 

Maurice Sheahan (1920-25) Richmond 

Mick McGuane (1980-85) Collingwood, Carlton 

Mitchell Brown (2002-06) West Coast Eagles 

Nathan Brown (2002-06) Collingwood 

Nick Suban (2003-08) Fremantle 

Peter O’Donohue (1931-36) Hawthorn 

Peter Walsh (1989-94) Melbourne, Port Adelaide 

Ray Ball (1962-65) Richmond, South Melbourne 

Reg Hickey (1921) Geelong 

Robert Johnson Snr (1918-20) Melbourne 

Shaun Grigg (2001-06) Carlton, Richmond 

Tom McDonald (2010) Melbourne 

Tom Simpson (1949) Richmond 

Tony Sullivan (1963-64) Melbourne 

Vin Williams (1946-47) Fitzroy

* A list published in The Courier on Saturday was incomplete.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide