BFL preliminary final: Lakers no change, Cobras forced to bring in three

ALL CLEAR: onballer Matt Denham has recovered from an ankle injury and will play for Bacchus Marsh.
ALL CLEAR: onballer Matt Denham has recovered from an ankle injury and will play for Bacchus Marsh.

Bacchus Marsh faces the biggest test of its new age in the Ballarat Football League preliminary final at the Eastern Oval on Saturday.

The Cobras enjoyed a charmed run to its first BFL premiership last year.

Their path this far this time around has not been as smooth.

Injuries, suspensions and the biggest hit of all – a 98-point drubbing at the hands of Darley – have the Cobras with their backs to the wall.

Bacchus Marsh coach Travis Hodgson admits the crunch clash with Lake Wendouree will be a test of character.

He is confident though the Cobras can and will rebound.

Hodgson said they had moved on quickly from the heavy second semi-final defeat.

“We dealt with it immediately after the game. We didn’t dwell on it. We moved on.

“We didn’t play well enough, but we’re strong enough (to bounce back),” he said.

When it comes to confidence though, Lake Wendouree has some real spring in its step.

So much so Lakers coach Tim Malone has been able to name an unchanged line-up.

It is a different scenario for Bacchus Marsh with three compulsory changes.

The big inclusion is feisty onballer Scott Sherlock after an extended lay-off with a torn hamstring.

Youngster and small forward Bill Griffiths is back after missing one week with concussion and Liam Noonan has earned another recall.

Out goes Jarrah Maksymow (suspended), Trent Angwin (hamstring) and Kane White (knee).



at Eastern Oval

Saturday, 2.15pm


Bacchus Marsh (2nd): 13 wins, 2 losses, 1 draw

Lake Wendouree (1st): 14 wins, 2 losses


R8: Bacchus Marsh 14.20 (104) d Lake Wendouree 11.6 (72)   

R13: Bacchus Marsh 7.21 (63) d  Lake Wendouree 7.10 (52)       

Qualifying final: Bacchus Marsh 14.14 (98) d L Wendouree 7.14 (56)





Bacchus Marsh

B: M. Sutherland, D. Heta, D. Velden

HB: L. Mullen, L. Phyland, J. Bolton

C: J.  Trowsdale, T.  Shea, H.  Coulton

HF: R. Stuhldreier, R. Mc Nay, A. Del Papa

F: D. Bishop, S. Sherlock, J. Calma-Holt

R: D. Burton, L. Blundell, M. Denham

Int: N. Stuhldreier, D. Phyland, B. Griffiths, L. Noonan

Emg: T. Hughes, J. Hehir

In: B. Griffiths, L. Noonan, S. Sherlock

Out: J. Maksymow,  K. White,  T. Angwin

Lake Wendouree

B: L. Findlay, L. O'Connell, B. Hayes

HB: L. Bucknall, S. Clifton, T. Malone

C: L.  Anderson, J.  Hooper, N.  Monk

HF: J. Alexander, A. Simpson, E. McCuskey

F: N. Pring, T. Nijam, B. Taylor

R: A. Armstrong, S. Clifton, N. Peters

Int: J. O'Connell, S. Carey, S. Willmott, H. Herben

Emg: T. Littore, D. Sliwa, I. Kirby, A. Kirby

No charge



East Point

B: L. Faull, B. Fitzpatrick, J. Peeters

HB: B. Leonard, L. Thornton, K. Rattley

C: J.  Draffin, C.  Banwell, K.  McNicol

HF: J. Buttler, S. Tung, J. Bassett

F: T. Whittington, M. McCrow, A. Wright

R: J. Kirby, S. Romeril, C. Raine

Int: J. Payne, C. Quinlan, J. McClure, J. Lewis

Emg: B. Yoa, J. Downey, A. Hynes, J. Tung


B: C. Cullen, K. Doyle, D. Edwards

HB: L. Cahill, J. Spiteri, S. Holt

C: Z.  Dix, D.  Peacock, T.  Thacker

HF: T. Stone, D. Locke, B. Hall

F: B. Holt, A. Speak, R. Gundry

R: T. Stephenson, K. Fenton, R. Hawkins

Int: S. McDonald, D. Grenfell, C. Pepi, J. Wells

Emg: T. Minns, M. Smith-Bye




B: D. Okely, T. O'Keane, X. Fitzgerald

HB: S. Carr, H. Hall, K. Linton

C: T.  Douglass, J.  Toulmin, K.  Dawborn

HF: A. Harvey, Z. Jenkins, L. Scheele

F: W. Madden, L. McLean, Z. Wilson

R: J. Flynn, H. Edwards, T. Bryans

Int: N. Vincent, R. Petrascu, J. O'Donnell, L. Frawley, Z. Oliver

North Ballarat City

B: T. Haintz, R. Wood, M. Lawless

HB: T. Hotchin, I. Pertzel, J. Simpson

C: H.  Mulcahy, B.  Leonard, J.  Duffy

HF: S. Duffy, J. Curran, M. Goh,

F: F. Loader, T. Bromley-Lynch, T. Moss

R: C. Perks, H. Loader, C. Patterson

Int: P. Keogh, T. Alkemade, M. Willian, M. Riding