Steele Sidebottom comes up top

Steele Sidebottom has ended Scott Pendlebury's run of four straight Copeland Trophies by claiming Collingwood's best and fairest award on Friday night.

Magpies vice-captain Sidebottom, 26, capped another prolific season, in which he played every game and averaged more than 27 disposals a match, by edging fellow midfielder Taylor Adams by one vote (140 to 139).

Sidebottom had finished in the top five of the Pies' best and fairest for five years in a row, but hadn't added his name to the list of Copeland winners until this year.

The Pies' successful recruiting from Greater Western Sydney was shown in the finishes of Adams and fellow ex-Giant Adam Treloar, who placed third with 112 votes.

Another strong season in defence from Jeremy Howe was rewarded with a fourth-place finish, with the former Melbourne high-flyer one vote adrift of Treloar. Ruckman Brodie Grundy again polled well too, finishing fifth on 92 votes. He was one vote ahead of skipper Pendlebury, whose chances of winning a fifth straight Copeland were dashed by a late-season finger break, which led him to miss the final six matches of the Pies' campaign.

Pendlebury remains one best and fairest shy of club great and current Magpies coach Nathan Buckley, whose tally of six Copelands is a club record.

Forward Jamie Elliott's comeback season yielded him a top-10 finish despite being restricted to just 17 games, while first-year Pie Will Hoskin-Elliott, another of the former Giants, also made the top 10.

Elliott also won his second Gordon Coventry Award as the club's leading goalkicker, while father-son recruit Callum Brown won the Harry Collier Trophy as the Pies' best first-year player.

2017 E.W. Copeland Trophy Top Ten
1. Steele Sidebottom, 140 (E.W. Copeland Trophy)
2. Taylor Adams, 139 (R.T. Rush Trophy)
3. Adam Treloar, 112 (J.J. Joyce Trophy)
4. Jeremy Howe, 111 (J.F. McHale Trophy)
5. Brodie Grundy, 92 (Jack Regan Trophy)
6. Scott Pendlebury, 91
7. Jack Crisp, 91
8. Brayden Maynard, 79
9. Jamie Elliott, 69
Will Hoskin-Elliott, 69

Other Awards

???Darren Millane Perpetual Memorial Trophy (Best Clubman) - Tyson Goldsack
Harry Collier Trophy (Best First Year Player) - Callum Brown
Gordon Coventry Award (Leading Goal Kicker) - Jamie Elliott (34 goals)
Joseph Wren Award (Best VFL Player) - Marty Hore, 82 votes

This story Steele Sidebottom comes up top first appeared on The Age.