Rebels reveal squad for TAC Cup campaign

READY TO GO: Matt Schnerring is part of the Rebels' squad for the 2018 season.
READY TO GO: Matt Schnerring is part of the Rebels' squad for the 2018 season.

The Greater Western Victoria Rebels squad has been finalised for the 2018 TAC Cup season.

A group of 48 has been named after more than 140 players from the Ballarat, Wimmera, South West, Warrnambool and Hampden talent regions tried out.

All players have been under the watchful eye of new Rebels head coach/regional coaching director Marc Greig.

“It’s been great to see just how many talented footballers we have in the western region of Victoria,” Greig said.

“It’s been an extremely hard task trimming our list to just 48 players, such has been the spread of talent throughout the region.

“That being said, we’re extremely happy with our initial selected squad, with a good mix of experience and youth within.”

The squad contains 33 players new to TAC Cup football in 2018, with a mix of 26 top-age (turning 18 in 2018) and 22 bottom-age (turning 17 in 2018) players.

“We’re excited to introduce such many new players into the GWV Rebels program for the first time, and we look forward into developing the squad into not just better footballers, but more importantly better people,” Greig said.

The Rebels start their season against Bendigo at Mars Stadium on March 24.

2018 SQUAD

Marc Greig

Marc Greig

Cooper Craig-Peters (Redan), Matt Schnerring (Warrnambool), Scott Carlin (Terang), Ben Annett (South Warrnambool), Harris Jennings (Portland), Charlie Wilson (Warrack Eagles), Mitch Martin (Horsham Saints), Harrison Butler (Carisbrook), Lochie Dawson (Hamilton Kangaroos), Jacob Lohmann (Lake Wendouree), Josh Chatfield (Koroit), Angus Gove (Horsham Saints), Thomas Berry (Horsham Saints), Jed Hill (Ballarat), Kayne Councillor (Kaniva - Leeor United), Ethan Harvey (South Warrnambool), Tom Clark (East Ballarat), Brayden Helyar (Horsham Saints), Jed Henderson (South Warrnambool), Tylar Watts (Portland), Izaac Grant (Hepburn), Cooper Heard (Ararat), Matthew Clarke (Cobden), Matty Lloyd (Horsham Demons), Tynan Shannon (Casterton-Sandford), Riely Ranieri (North Ballarat Juniors), Elliot Lamb (North Ballarat City), Connor Giddings (Portland), Patrick Glanford (Mount Clear), Isaac Wareham (Terang-Mortlake), Charlie Perks (North Ballarat City), Mitchell Burgess (Warrnambool), John Ross (Ballarat), Joel O'Connell (Lake Wendouree), Connor Hinkley (Koroit), Mitch Bidmade (Warrnambool), Joshua Bibby (Warrack Eagles), Izaac Ewing (Penshurst), Joshua Mawson (Hamilton Kangaroos), Isaac Thomas (South Warrnambool), Ben Dodd (East Point), Emmanuel Ajang (South Warrnambool), Jayden Wright (Ararat), Riley Polkinghorne (North Balllarat Juniors), Darcy McEldrew (North Ballarat Juniors), Cody Lindsay (Ararat), Toby Mahony (Camperdown), James Cleaver (Hamilton Kangaroos)