Central Highlands Football League probes threat claims

A Hepburn reserves player is currently under investigation following claims he directed a serious threat to a rival club member.

The Central Highlands Football League board of management called for the competition's secretary Diane Ryan to initiate the probe following the round 15 clash between the Burras and Clunes.

The player at the centre of the investigation was reported for behaving in an abusive, insulting, threatening or obscene manner towards an umpire and disputing the decision of an umpire. That case was set to go to tribunal, but was postponed due to the investigation.

It is understood the incident with the umpire preceded another confrontation between the player and a club member from Clunes.

Playing away from home, Hepburn was big winners of the reserves clash against the Magpies, prevailing 14.19 (103) to 1.3 (9).

With one round to go until finals, the Burras are fifth on the reserves ladder.

The appointed investigator has until Monday next week to return a verdict on whether the Hepburn player should front the tribunal for anything other than the incident with the umpire.

Meanwhile, Hepburn is yet to finalise its senior coaching arrangement for next season.

Segifili Asa Leausa is currently in his first season in the role, which he took over from Jason Olver following the 2017 premiership success.

Asa Leausa was captain of the team which beat Beaufort in a thrilling grand final at Mars Stadium.

The playing coach, who is currently sidelined through injury, is preparing to lead the senior team into another finals series.

The Burras spent a number of weeks outside the top eight, but have strung together five-straight wins to be sixth on the ladder.

Hepburn had the bye at the weekend and now gets set for a round 17 encounter with Learmonth.

The Lakies are 10th, but still a slim chance of reaching the finals. They need to beat the Burras on Saturday and hope that Dunnstown (eighth) and Bungaree (ninth) lose respective games against Daylesford and Ballan.



Bungaree v Ballan

Clunes v Rokewood-Corindhap

Creswick v Springbank

Daylesford v Dunnstown

Gordon v Buninyong

Learmonth v Hepburn

Newlyn v Beaufort

Carngham-Linton v Skipton